Blancmangey Days

I need to let this out. I feel so very very fat. After all this hard word, all this effort and sheer force of will, I feel fat.

It’s illogical. Yesterday I spent the day in a pair of size 14 jeans, OK, so they were a little on the snug side but compared to July when a size 20 was snug? They fastened; I wore them all day, size 14.

To put it in context I haven’t been a size 14 since I met my husband nearly 7 years ago and even then it’s because I survived on a diet of Lambrini and no food. I should feel triumphant shouldn’t I?

I stepped on the scales this morning (Sunday is weigh day. always a big mistake to weigh myself more than once a week) and appear to have inexplicably gained 7 lbs since Sunday. I’m no bigger; my clothes aren’t tighter, as you can see from the size 14 jeanage… ARGGGGHH.

What do I do? Do I work harder? Eat less? Throw out the cheapo scales and buy some decent ones? Put it down to hormones or water retention and go buy cake?

Truth be told I’ll probably do none of those things. I’m fitter than I have been since my school days so I’m probably going to keep going just the way I have been and keep an extra careful eye on things for a while. Setbacks are just something I’ll have to learn to get through and in the long term this is just a little blip. I am left wondering how other people deal with those fat days though.

Explore posts in the same categories: General randomness, Losing It

2 Comments on “Blancmangey Days”

  1. James Says:

    First off, don’t get disheartened. This is NOT a sprint, it is a marathon. You will have ups and downs along the way, and don’t expect it to be all smooth waters because it won’t be.

    Second, there is a HUGE difference between FEELING fat and BEING fat. As a woman you will be prone to water retention (for various reasons) and this can make you feel bloated and fat.

    Third, there are several different trains of thought as to how many times a week you weight yourself. Some say it is counter productive to weigh yourself more than once a week, others say it’s a good idea to keep track every to ensure you are getting a proper average of your actual weight rather than either a peak or a trough. Your weight changes dramatically even over the space of a day, and it’s down to several different reasons including toiletry habits, water retention and even gravity. I personally weigh myself every day and only make an announcement regarding weight loss when it is confirmed by several days of consistent weight. If you weigh yourself on a Sunday you’re putting yourself at risk of inconsistent weight loss data, as you will sweat a lot out on your Saturday ride. I can lose 3 or 4 lbs in sweat in 1 turbo session alone. You need to work out what is right for you in terms of how many times you weigh yourself. If you really are going to weigh yourself just the once in a week, make sure it is the same time every week, and that you wear the same clothes (or lack of) and haven’t eaten / drank anything before hand. I personally weigh myself every day, and you’d be surprised how the results can change over the space of a couple of days.

    Fourth, good scales are important. I have the weight watchers digital ones and they tend to be pretty accurate. So long as you get weighed on the same scales all the time though.

    DON’T BUY CAKE. You’ll get a sugar rush, an insulin spike, and you’ll come down harder than you went up. Don’t do it. Think of the calories and the cash.

    Just persevere, you’re doing grand. Weight loss can be paralleled nicely with life – it’s full of ups and downs. It’s how you enjoy the ups and deal with the downs that determines how successful you will be. You know where I am if you need a pep talk.

  2. notthewowy Says:

    Oh, so much to say Magic James. I will not be a slave to the scales. So once a week is a personal thing for me, though I am pretty sure my £5 scales could do with upgrading. When I was working full time (and then some) Sunday was the only day I didn’t have to get up early and dash round like a loon so, yes, on reflection a change of day might be good. How does Wednesday sound? 😀

    I think it was more a thing of feeling cack rather than actually being cack. I do fluctuate, everyone does but I measure the same as I did. I felt royally unpleased with everything for reasons other than weight loss and this was the unexpected manifest. What I actually needed was a few hours of mindless housework and very loud Itunes.

    I wont be buying cake, you know I could make it better than the shops anyway ;-p. Nope, no cake, sweet potato and lentil soup for tea.

    There you go MJ, your work here is done for now. 😀 x


Leave a Reply

