The Sticking Point.

I woke up this morning, rolled out of bed and caught a glimpse of my underweared self in the mirror. I’m sure anyone whose lost weight can attest to this but I still think I’m going to see my super fat self in the mirror. What I actually saw was a fine lady with a gorgeous waist. I like myself now. I feel attractive, I like my curves. That matters. There’s danger here. This is my sticking point, ok so 14 stone is still not skinny but I feel nice enough now to get complacent. I have been here before. I will not go there again. I am asking for help. Any advice, tips, encouragement, shouting at, anything I can get. I will not go there again.

I’ve also been looking at my body. I cannot believe how much it has changed. I love the way my legs are changing and want that to continue but my stomach is still pretty loose and flabby so I’ve been thinking about taking up another form of exercise in addition to the cycling ( who’d have thought I’d turn into an exercise freak huh?). I used to swim a lot and maybe that would help?

Breaking the cycle of  losing-gaining-losing-gaining is every fat persons holy grail. I think the only way to do this is for me to make lasting changes in my life. I’ve made a good start just by eating breakfast and moving more (it really was that simple, so take heart those of you in the same boat) and I plan to continue.

Of course, there’ll be lots of plans made today by lots of people, may they all be sensible, achievable and fruitful and may your friends support you in it.

Explore posts in the same categories: Friends, General randomness, Losing It, The Bike

2 Comments on “The Sticking Point.”

  1. Alan Says:

    Core stability is often put forward as a complementary exercise for all sports but particularly useful for cycling. There is yoga and pilates. Unfortunately to do it properly probably requires going to a class and that means money.

  2. notthewowy Says:

    It does doesn’t it. 🙂 it was a lot easier when I lived on the south coast and could swim for free, that’s certain. I’m going to think on this one. Thanks Alan.


Leave a Reply

