After the Small Things.

Come the big things.

After the brain crash and the slow slog to normality I’m starting to feel like me again and I want to never be a fatty again. I want to not be a fatty now. I want to get up those hills too.

After thinking on the heart rate thing I began to consider my goals. I need motivation to make me eat right, to pull all of the effort together, I’m a woman who needs reasons. So, far enough away from last year to be sustainable, here are my goals:

To hit 12 stone by December 31st 2010 (2stone 5lbs to go)

To consistantly climb Bothal Bank. (sounds like a small one but honestly, the thing is like a nemesis)

To log my eating my exercise and my weight completely, honestly and consistantly.

There you are. I have goals. Big change from not being able to get off the sofa. Now it’s your turn. I know how easy it is for me to destroy myself in those black days, undo all that work. Please feel free to harangue me if and when I slip. If you’re not sure what to say take a leaf out of the 22 stone cyclists book and just tell me I’m a tit.

Explore posts in the same categories: Food, Friends, Losing It, The Bike

11 Comments on “After the Small Things.”

  1. Andy Says:

    I went up Bothal Bank for the first time on Sunday. It’s steep and has a hairpin near the top that would put some Alpine efforts to shame.

  2. Carrieanne Says:

    You go girl the best of luck and you will do it you seem to be determined to do it you go climb or cycle :o) your mountain!!

  3. Emma Rush Says:

    Friend Phill did a post today about goals today. Interesting the whole SMART thing he talks about. Have a look : http://www.phillconnell.com/blog/2010/goal-setting/

    Also Richard Wiseman wrote something about achieving goals. It was in the Guardian somewhere, I’ve blogged about it a bit before. Essentially, to achieve goals you need to share them with other people, have a plan and reward yourself along the way. So the blog is the perfect way to do it. See here http://is.gd/6CPK4

    “On the other hand, people who kept their resolutions tended to have broken their goal into smaller steps and rewarded themselves when they achieved one of these. They also told their friends about their goals, focused on the benefits of success and kept a diary of their progress.”

    I go on and on and on in a blog post here http://is.gd/6CQ8J about that.

    As you’ve said before, you need determination and passion to succeed, so you’ll be sorted 🙂 Keep up the work, you’re doing a brilliant job.

    • Phill Says:

      Oooh, cheers! I just saw that Emma’d linked me in my Webmaster checks. I’m sort of chuffed now.
      Looking over your blog since January, I reckon you’re doing brilliantly, so keep going girl!
      I’m also interested to know how the B&Qing it is going.

      • notthewowy Says:

        B&Q??? Be happy to share if only I understood. Cheers Phill, I wont lie, blood sweat and tears were involved.

        • Phill Says:

          Blood, sweat and tears are fine, just part of everyday getting on with it!

          The B&Q reference was in deference to Joby’s motivational “you can do it if you B&Q it”, but I’ve never actually known anyone who used the “B&Qing it” technique as a motivational aid, I’d be interested to know if it works…. I’ll stop talking now…. 🙂

  4. notthewowy Says:

    Cheers Emma, I have done all my calculations, dusted off my tracking programme and I’m looking to lost just under a pound a week to reach the 12 stone mark by the end of the year.

    As for bothal bank? If I can climb it 3 times in a row I’ll be ecstatic.

  5. danny winthorpe Says:

    Go Carrie,
    I believe you can do whatever you set your mind to.
    Good luck.

  6. Joby Says:

    You can do it if you B&Q it.


Leave a Reply

