Do You Remember Your First Hell Yeah?

Two pounds gone. Two stone three pounds to go this year. Can I get a hell yeah?

 

Right, now that’s out of the way let me tell you a tale which seems so far away but isn’t really far at all:

 

My first Vags ride. It was late September early October I think. I knew about the Vags Saturday ride through my husband, who’s a Wansbeck CC rider and also from the 22 stone cyclists blog (go see, http://22stonecyclist.com this man deserves applause). I’d started cycling in July 09 and as well as only just managing my first 30 mile ride that month I had stopped smoking the Tuesday before the ride.

 

I wasn’t sure club riding was for me, I went mostly out of curiosity and to make Simon, a few of his cycling buddies and James shut up. The night before I forced my husband to drive through to Ponteland so I knew where I was going and in the morning I set off at around half past eight (in the car, I wasn’t that fit). After driving by Anna’s two or three times with my heart stotting round my chest I went and parked in the leisure centre car park an hour early. And I sat, and panicked, and sat, and panicked and considered going back home. I get really nervous in new situations and feel very uncomfortable meeting new people like that. Then cars started pulling up and bits of bikes came out of boots. Screwing my courage to the wall I got out of my car and went and said Hi. One of the gentlemen I spoke to also said he was a first timer, I wish I could remember who he was (that’s how nervous I was).

 

At Anna’s I introduced myself to Danny, the ride leader (I found out he’s a reformed fatty too! well done Danny) and a few other people said Hi. A special mention has to go to the lovely lady who didn’t stop chatting to me then and still doesn’t now bless her. My story from there is pretty much the same as Suzanne’s below. James started the ride with me but was soon in front and there were one or two hills I had to stop on. God, that was awful but I had some wonderful people to nurse me round. On the way back to Ponteland at Kirkley Hall we stopped to say goodbye to some of the others and one rider asked if I’d be back next week, I remember saying that I would try to find a babysitter but I was actually unsure if I would come back. It was an overwhelming experience for me and I arrived home absolutely shattered. Reflecting on it through the week I realised how much I’d learned in that one day and how much I wanted to get better. Is everyone’s first time like this?

 

This is how I did it. With the support of my family, my friends and the Vags weekly social ride. I’ve met so many wonderful people and now have some new friends.

 

Looking back on it like this it’s pretty much inconceivable how far I’ve come since then. This is what joining a club does for you.

Explore posts in the same categories: Friends, Idolatry, Losing It, The Bike

3 Comments on “Do You Remember Your First Hell Yeah?”

  1. danny winthorpe Says:

    HI Carrie,the guys you met in the car park were Doug and Martin my mountain bike buddies,
    Martin has just bought a trek road bike and will be out with us soon.
    You said to them that was your first and last time and I was disapointed as Ithought you had enjoyed yourself. just goes to show if you stick at something you get better,
    Well done

  2. notthewowy Says:

    They were nice. It’s true, I wasn’t sure if I would come back, that’s when I just wanted to not be a fatty. Now? I wouldn’t give it up for all the money in the world.

  3. notthewowy Says:

    I’ve just figured it out! my first ride was the 10th of October! Thats 4 months! WOW


Leave a Reply

