Oh! So That’s The Gibbet!

I left the house at 7:45 this morning to take the junior cyclist to breakfast club and pedalled off to meet my friend Mark for a nice day of attempting to master the hills. I’m not a hill climber and my calves were still stiff from the weekend. This did not bode well but I was determined to give it all I could. We turned right at Pegswood, left towards Hebron and then left towards the back of Morpeth. Coming up the hill through the housing estate I tried to change gear and missed, cue comic spluttering that somehow did not result in a fall. Then we rode through Pigdon and Netherwitton. Now I’m bad at directions but the original very loose plan was to go down the Gibbet, down Bilsmoor and up something called Vomit Pass. umm.      

We got through Netherwitton when Mark said something like “aren’t we heading for Rothbury now?” Umm, ok… Mark took us down the most amazing hill to Fontburn Reservoir, of course down always seems to result in up and this was a fair bit of up. On and on and on it went pretty much all the way past some invisible forest (Harwood?) till we passed a sign declaring us in National Park, I thought we already were so I just had to stop and take a photo.   

 
A joke was made about taking pictures of the bikes and I turned my head to the left. What’s that? Fred me, is that the Gibbet? It was, I checked. We had made it to the Gibbet, albeit the easier way but still I was proud. We had averaged about 10.7 mph for the ride in; all that remained was to make it down it for a spot of lunch. I do love a good descent, flying down at about 37 mph. We stopped for a toastie and irresistible cake at the Coach House. My god these cakes! proper homemade cake just full of care, and love, and sugar whooooooo. 

 

Now we just had to get back up it. I soo wanted to get back up it. I will learn to climb if it kills me and it may. > I DID IT. I got up the Gibbet. I got up it with pride and skill, slow but steady. I did that jersey proud Danny. At the top my leg were strong and my lungs were working and there was no stopping me. well, mostly. We went home through Cambo and the hills were everywhere I turned. I took them all, climbed them all, and even managed to accelerate once or twice. I felt like I was getting somewhere. Through Hartburn, up Dogger Bank, up Whorral bank to Bothal. Halfway up Bothal bank my legs just stopped. That’s amazing, 56 miles of lots of up and only now near to home do my legs start to give, I’m taking this as proof that I had judged my effort and my abilities just right. I left Mark to head home at Wansbeck park and went up towards Green Lane there’s a series of modest ups that way. I felt at this point that I didn’t want to go home, I wanted to turn round and do that all over again but hey, it was ten to three, I could pick the boy up from school. That was fun, standing in the school yard in lycra and road shoes holding little flying machines.   

Right, that’s the Gibbet experienced, next up are Bilsmoor and this Vomit Pass. I have plenty of time; I know for certain I could not have done this just one month ago. I am so very proud of myself, very grateful to Mark for a wonderful day. I really, really, really enjoyed it, especially the hills.   

I’m having arguments with the photo uploader, until I sort it out the rest of the photos are here  on my facebook: http://www.facebook.com/album.php?aid=196431&id=576796753&l=f17e6baaa9. You don’t have to be my friend or even be on facebook to see them but feel free to send me a friend request if you feel like it ok?   

  

Stats  

dist            59.51 miles   

 time          5.02.42 hrs    

Avg           11.7 mph   

max          37.7 mph 

climbed  3140 feet ( I’m told)  

  

       

       

 

Explore posts in the same categories: Friends, Rides, The Bike

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

26 Comments on “Oh! So That’s The Gibbet!”

  1. PhilR Says:

    Sounds like a great day, my daughter has now decided she’d like to go cycling with me, which I suppose now means I have to get off my arse and actually do some cycling. Don’t think we’ll be doing any UPs, low ground for us to start with 🙂

    I love the gibbet, although I get there by car 😀

    Oh, changed my commenting name to PhilR so as not to cause confusion 😉

    • notthewowy Says:

      so this means you will have to fix your bike huh? I loves cycling with the boy. the only problem I have is keeping up. Give me a shout if you need a hand.

      • PhilR Says:

        yup, looks like my putting off is going to have to stop!

        I can manage dismantling my bike, if I get stuck reassembling I’ll give you a shout 😉

  2. Suzanne Says:

    I keep hearing about the Gibbet, Bilsmoor and Vomit Pass…..it makes me want to escape the confines of the library and do them!!

    • notthewowy Says:

      Great idea Sue, though that would scupper my plan to get fit enough to whup yer bum :p When you free and we can totally give it a bash like.

      • Suzanne Says:

        um….June ha!!! Unless we skive off the Saturday ride to do it, I suggest next time the Sat ride is heading to Gubeon we do it!!!

        • notthewowy Says:

          yes, because if I wanted a tin of ch… um yeah, I dont know what you are talking about, i love the Gubeon. June it is. hang on, thats a busy month Im having. grr. lets just go for it Suzy gonzales.

  3. andy phillips Says:

    Very envious of your ride today. sounds great. Well done

  4. danny winthorpe Says:

    Well done again Carrie 🙂

    • notthewowy Says:

      Cheers Danny I wish you could have been there, I have no idea how I did some of the things I did, coming past Meldon theres a little incline which I climbed holding 19mph in the big ring! I have no idea how!

  5. Christine Gilligan Says:

    S I X T Y M I L E S ! ! ! ! ……Carrie. I am wanting to go on a club ride as you all (Steven included) really enjoy it and have a great time. Then… I read your (and James) blogs and am SCARED. I have no stamina, want to get off after 10 mins, but I know it is very enjoyable…I WILL have to get out on the road bike. And I will do it. ONCE. It is another 2010 resolution. WELL DONE AS ALWAYS. X

    • notthewowy Says:

      Christine, I have a friend who was bought a mountain bike for christmas, our first ride out we rode 10 miles at a very slow pace, 9 mph maybe and we both had a whale of a time. so much so that she’s just bought a road bike.

      lets face it, James and I, well we just like pain,we are mental, come for the club run, ask any rider You will love it and you will never be left behind. I promise. Ok? If it helps I will stay by you for every single minute..

      • Christine Gilligan Says:

        I definitely will this year. Steven will stick with me if necessary. Thanks for offering. I am used to the mountain bike but the road bike will help. Cheers.

  6. Matt Says:

    Sounds like a cracking ride, however, vomit pass…nice??!!

    • notthewowy Says:

      it so was. I’m feeling as though one day I will be hill fit, thats a big step up for me. Feels like all my hard work is paying off, now of course next time I try it I’ll bonk spectacularly but so what, I did it today and I’m gonna bask in it. 🙂

  7. redbikes Says:

    60 miles of hills. That sounds painful to me!

    I’m still trying my best to avoid uphills (and downhills) this year. I’m using the fixie as an excuse to always take the flatter route where possible.

  8. Les Says:

    Well done that sounds like a very long way 2 me without the hills thrown in for good measure

  9. Phill Says:

    You made all thos place names up, didn’t you?

    I’m going home via the Gentlemansexcuseme and Nether Scratchings tonight. 🙂

  10. Phill Says:

    Absolutely, although they come with an 18 rating 🙂 Get him on the job, so to speak.


Leave a Reply

