I So Wanna Garmin Now

I really loved the comments on yesterdays post. It’s nice to feel so thoroughly supported, cheers from the bottom of my bottle cage.

 

Courtesy of Mark Kirby I want to show you these:

elevation graph for the ride. Mid point is elsdon.

That’s the elevation graph, how high we was. I think the low bit at the centre was Elsdon village.

Thats a little map of our route if you wanna try it.

When I woke up this morning my legs felt suprisingly fine. Unsurprisingly the ride to work, the six hours working on my feet and the ride back home soon fixed that.  Tomorrow I’m attending some Guided Walk Leader training with the lovely Sustrans people. I have no idea how I’m going to pedal the heavy tourer to Stannington, go on a walk and belt home, I suspect the answer is slowly.

Needs must however as over the last week or two the scales have slowly been creeping upwards. I know what this is, my clothes are still getting looser, quite rapidly,so I can probably put this down to muscle building I guess. However that’s not my goal is it and this morning I weighed in at 14 stone 7, ok it’s “that week of the month” and I may be retaining water from yesterdays exertions but still this must be reversed. I’m back to tracking my exercise and my eating religeously. If you guys really want to help me a quick email, text or tweet badgering me to track would be very much appreciated because I’m really bad at it. I will never be fat again. Never.

Explore posts in the same categories: Friends, Losing It, Rides

Tags: , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

14 Comments on “I So Wanna Garmin Now”

  1. White Giant Says:

    Well done, chuck. You’re a macheen!
    The longer, endurance rides will seriously give you the munchies – usually a couple of days after a ride.
    Don’t let them play with your head! Stay strong and eat clean. You’ll be eating yourself and those gremlins know it.

    • notthewowy Says:

      Fanks. 🙂 I enjoyed it. I am certain that no way will I ever be a fatty again hen. I do have 300 cals going spare today, now what should I do with it?

  2. Les Says:

    Carrie u will never b fat again coz ure a very determined lady

    Keep it up like I know u will

    • notthewowy Says:

      Aw thanks Les. We all have doubts though, and we all fall now and again. It’s wether or not we get back up that makes the difference. I keep telling myself that it’s a marathon and not a sprint but some days are hard, just like everyone elses life huh?


  3. Keep on keeping mate! 🙂


  4. er, that’d be keep on keeping on then…sorry…muppet…

  5. Joby Says:

    Garmins are the dogs – get one as soon as you can.

    • notthewowy Says:

      That would be never then? Although, this job the agency have sent me on looks like itll be slightly longer than the 2 weeks they told me. maybe that means I can buy buy buy problem being no time to ride ride ride

  6. alan holmes Says:

    What have you done? I go on holiday for a week and you are out doing big things!!You need to learn to behave yourself

  7. Phill Says:

    What sort of phone do you have? I am going somewhere with this. Actually I’ll tweet you on this one…

    • notthewowy Says:

      cheapo special after I killed my pretty basic LG cookie. what I wouldnt give for a quarter way useful fone. I am lost without online capabilities. i will admit to my addictions…. 😦

      • Phill Says:

        OK, just if you get an iPhone or Windows Mobile phone there are some good, cheap (even free) GPS tracking apps. I paid a fiver this week for one which is a beaut. Was going to try a gentle rib-testing ride today but this rain’s resulted in it being a bathroom painting day (rubbish). Way cheaper than a garmin and on yer phone which is handy.
        No doubt I’ll get myself a garmin someday but until then my little app is a good compromise.


Leave a Reply

