Ssunday Llunch.

I woke up ridiculously late this morning and then stayed in bed for a little while more contemplating this unusual urge for Sunday lunch with twelve different veg and mmmm some nut roast. I can’t usually be bothered to make the mess required to have that happen but today I am sooo hungry. oof, I digress… lunch is cooking and you want to hear about yesterday, is that right?

Sunshine and blue skys abundant myself and the Junior Cyclist were up, ready and wheeling off to Grandmas a bit earlier than we realised. I had the unusual situation of pedaling to Stannington on my own. In honour of the extra time and the glorious sunshine I turned left at the Stakeford roundabout to go through Bedlington and Nedderton. This is a shorter route than I usually take but contains far more UP. Oh My God, who put that wind there? Crikey. Despite that I really enjoyed myself, I felt fairly good in the legs and loved the blue sky. Everything just seems brighter, better and happier. I arrived at Stannington half an hour early. Took that opportunity to change the lens in my glasses to something darker (first time ever!), take some photos and write to you all. Here they come, And, Suzy Gonzales and Keith.

We set off through towards Saltwick, that road is pothole hell but it’s the first time I’ve seen it without ice. I was off up the hill with more speed than I could usually manage but looking behind I couldn’s see Sue or Keith. I turned back to find that there had been a small mechanical problem and yay, I got to climb that up again. Mr Kirby pulled up behind us and off we went. Reaching the turn to Saltwick Mr Kirby went off on his own to put some extra miles in because he just loves to hurt himself. And Keith and I had a lovely chat all the way into Pont.

The turnout at Anna’s was good, sunshine brings everybody out. The slow group was split into a few smaller groups and I opted to ride with Lovely Brian. This man has saved my soul more than once, nursing me up hills and keeping me rolling. He has my loyalty for that. His wife’s pretty fantastic too. Anyway, it has to be said that I bore easily and I wasn’t looking forward to the same old route to the same old cafe stop which is good because we didn’t get it. What we got was a lovely outing along some nice roads with a lot of nice scenery and a nasty blooming headwind. I hate headwinds, for me its like a neverending hill with no relief. I pushed forward to have a chat to Brian and only then realised I was at the front pushing into that headwind. I couldn’t keep that up for long and the nice man behind me moved up to the front with the lovely Mr Holmes.

I went down the Ryals yesterday, never been that way before! What was funny was that first Lovely Brian and then SpeedDemon Alan warned me to be careful going down, apparently I should use something called Brakes? Amazing how well they know me huh? Anyway, bearing that in mind halfway down the second drop I sat up, oh how I wish now that I hadn’t, 43 mph I’d hit. What if I hadn’t sat up?

We turned right up the longest slowest never ending slog of a ride. Or that’s what I’d usually be thinking. It was a slog, no denying it, it was also very hard sweaty breathless work but I really enjoyed it. Almost at the top, where nearly everyone had dissapeared into the distance I stopped to wait for Sue who was still having mechanical issues and we had a lovely gentle ride to the cafe shed. The place was heaving. Bikes everywhere, people everywhere, noise and chat and hilariously panicked staff, bless them. Everyone was just so full of the joy of spring, banter and laughter and shiny bike admiring everywhere you turned. It’s enough to make anyones heart sing huh?

There followed the usual loose group of whoever sets off whenever rag tag ramble back to Pont. I stayed with SuzyGonzales most of the way home, we had a nice chat and the route was lovely, I do like a change. Of course the gassing slowed us down and then Lovely Brian appeared to speed us up, then SpeedDemon Alan and then Danny the champion of the hills. Danny naptured Sue and then Alan and Brian did something fun, if a little painful, the naughty boys picked up the speed and dragged me behind them and kept picking up.. I looked down at my clock 29 mph. Ouch. That was fun guys, if a little scary.Thanks. And there we were, almost at Anna’s for a nice cuppa.

 Where on earth had Kirby gotten to? Oh well. The four of us set off for home, And, SuzyG, SpeedDemon Alan and I. The pace was a little bit faster than it would usually be but I was holding it. Astonishing. I really enjoyed chatting with Alan. We left Sue and And at Stannington and carried on through Stannington Station. At the Morpeth junction I turned left towards Hepscott alone. The temptation was there to sit up and take it easy but I fought it and won. I wanted to see just what I could do and I was close enough to home to go for it. I hammered it through Hepscott, onto the Guidepost road. A car passed me with an open window and some random man leaned out and shouted “go on lass”. I have never biggrinned so much. I was hammering along at something like 27 mph. I felt good. I shoved myself home and arrived on my sofa pink and panting. My god, the things a bit of sunshine can do. As club rides go, I’d had a fantastic day.

Stats

Dist:           71.14 miles

Avg:           13.4

Max:          43.2

Time:         5.17.21

Oh, last nights dinner was great, I had earned those glasses of wine and the company was fabulous. I especially enjoyed the group blog post, nothing funnier than watching drunk people pass round an Iphone. 🙂

Explore posts in the same categories: Rides, The Bike, Tyneside Vagabonds

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

6 Comments on “Ssunday Llunch.”

  1. lost Says:

    Sounds like a great club ride 🙂

  2. Les Says:

    ure stats r impressive Carrie 71.4 miles I get tired doing that in a car

    I am incresing my distance slowly

    But at pace I am doing it at I will be nigh on a Hundred by the time I can cycle 70 miles

    I am doing London Bikeathon in June my plan is 13 miles I managed jus a tad over 13 today so 13 is defo doable for me, may also cycle there and back if I av got that distance in my locker by then

    Well done carrie u defo inspire me

    • notthewowy Says:

      Les. You’ll be surprised. Honestly. I went from thirty miles to 60 quite quickly. It’s not about distance though. It’s about loving it sometimes you can get more out of ten miles than 30. Keep going. You will surprise yourself. I’m not doing anything most people can’t.

      Sent from my iPhone. Check out my blurg: notthewowy.wordpress.com

  3. Mark K Says:

    im not sure where i got to either.


  4. Sounds like a scream mate. I’m a solitary cyclist unfortunately, but I will have some company on a Mountain Bike ride on Wednesday.

    And you think road riding is fun!

    Seriously, if you get the chance, try it. I highly recommend it.


Leave a Reply

