Feeling the Lurve

I love commuting. I’ve just posted a video on Facebook (ok, so I forgot my youtube password, when I get it you can see it, or http://www.facebook.com/video/video.php?v=405843211753 i think its here) of the river Wansbeck at Morpeth as I passed it this afternoon. It was actually far calmer than when I passed it this morning. You know, it was a sight both beautiful and scary. Driving a car at 30 mph there’s so much I would miss. Scenery, little things like the sun (ok, not right now) on your face and dogwalkers and kids and other cyclists and lambs , the warming of the legs and the beating of the heart and the endearing repetition of the ride to work. I love it. Which is just as well as I don’t really have a choice anyway.

I also get a lot out of the thinking time of the commute. let me tell you how my days look right now, I leave the house just before eight to take the boy to breakfast club. Ride to Morpeth (8 miles) Stay there till five, ride to Ashington, sling curry in a takeaway till nine ish, ride home. Sleep. The thing is, people say to me “I would but I dont have the time, I have kids/dogs/pet rocks to look after” It’s true, those things make it hard I know, I spend every week scratting around for a sitter so that I can ride with my club on a Saturday.

I think maybe there are two kinds of people, those that put obstacles in their own way and those that think the obstacles are part of the journey. Well, nice and preachy today huh?

Edited to add Youtube link http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F3P9LeAldy4

Explore posts in the same categories: General randomness, The Bike, Work

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

7 Comments on “Feeling the Lurve”

  1. PhilR Says:

    I’m one of the put obstacles in the way people trying to break the habit, but something always gets in the way…

    I feel the same way about the delivery walk at times as you do on the cycle, depending where I am of course. It’s a great place to go to think and plan. As long as I remember why I’m out there in the first place I’m fine 😉

  2. notthewowy Says:

    Oh I thought all postmen were miserable everythin hatin gets…. lol

    So, this new bike??

    • PhilR Says:

      This new bike is still on the way. Hopefully they got my forms and I just need confirmation, then I have to wait 11 days to make sure I don’t want to cancel then they’ll send the letter of collection and then I can order the bike. I’ll be old and grey by the time I get it, oh wait…

  3. christine Says:

    Unfortunately, I am the former rather than the latter, but you have given me something to think about

    • notthewowy Says:

      Hey we’re all different and we all have our own little daftnesses. I guess my point is that if something or indeed someone is important to you then you’ll find a way to do it. You know?

  4. Alan Says:

    Well said


Leave a Reply

