Usuality Resuming Normal Service

I didn’t intend this blog to go further than the first four weeks but I’m glad it did. I enjoy the writing and the outpouring of my thoughts. I don’t know if the mentalness filters into it but it’s quite cathartic committing my thoughts, experiences and feelings to a place where anyone could see it. I’m always grateful for the comments and the support I receive. More than you know and you probably know quite a lot.

On the other hand I sometimes wonder if I should share more here. I’m having a few crises of late and I’m not great at showing people when I’m struggling but struggling I am in a more personal way. How do you figure out your life when everything is hanging in the balance and when the repercussions are so big? Any Ideas??

I don’t know what I am doing here, really, I’ve never blogged before now but I mentioned to a friend that I’d like my own address rather than the .wordpress one. Well I now have the address and something I dont understand called hosting. What I dont know is how to get the posts I’ve already made from here to there…Does that even make sense?

It looks like it’s going to take me a while to figure this out and I don’t know what’s going to happen or what’s possible. I have a lot to learn huh?  Please bear with me.

 

Explore posts in the same categories: General randomness

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

5 Comments on “Usuality Resuming Normal Service”

  1. PhilR Says:

    There should be a way of backing up the posts and restoring, I’ve not used a blog hosted at wordpress.com before but I’m sure there’s plenty of discussions somewhere 🙂

    In fact it seems as simple as
    1) In the old blog, go to Tools -> Export and download the XML file to your computer.

    2) In the new blog, go to Tools -> Import and upload the XML file you downloaded in step 1. Make sure that you choose the option to Download & import file attachments.

    So once you’ve got your domain and webspace configured, install the WordPress software then do the exports and you’re sorted.

    Gimme a shout if you get stuck 🙂

    • notthewowy Says:

      Ooh cheers Phil. I’m looking forward to figuring it all out. Any help gratefully received.

      Sent from my iPhone. Check out my blurg: notthewowy.wordpress.com

  2. PhilR Says:

    Figuring it all out is the fun part 🙂

    Who is your hosting with? Normally pretty standard so shouldn’t be any problems with setup etc.

  3. Les Says:

    The point u make about writing personal stuff is difficult can I say wot inspired me to write my piece on Tammi was the blog Phill wrote about his Diabetes I know the subject is not the same but still a very personal thing

    All I can say is in my case I am so happy that I wrote it and all the comments av bin so positive

  4. Phill Says:

    As regards sharing, I share stuff if I think people will relate to it, although sometimes just writing stuff down helps get thoughts clearer in my own mind.
    If you write it down and show it someone, it’ll be glaringly obvious if it’s stupid – does that make sense? So it’s more difficult to carry on doing daft things if you show other people your thoughts and actions.
    On that note, I’m going to stop fannying about on the internet (which is daft in a rare break in this crappy weather when I’m home alone), get dressed and go out on my bike.
    I’m not sure that’s helpful. But I hope it is.


Leave a Reply

