The Lady In Charge.

There was a pretty large turnout today, well over thirty riders. That was a scary sight. How would I organise all of these cyclists when I am incapable of giving geographical direction. I gotta say Chapeau to Elaine who kicked me up the butt when I was standing by the wall at Anna’s wondering where to start. Why did everybody want to ride in the slow group? No way could that many of us all ride together. Glad to say after some shouting Super Alan rode off with a group of the faster people and I think it was Richie who took a group of self confessed slow people on what he called the direct route. I was left with a nice sized group which contained the two Glorious old Rays and Elaine. It also contained a Potential New Member on his first club ride, how’s that for nerve wracking?

Glorious old Ray and I at the front led the group through Darras Hall, Wylam, Ovingham, Bywell, Styford Barns and into the cafe stop at Brocksbushes. The route was Elaines and it’s a beauty of a ride. Just stunningly fun. Thanks Elaine. Coming downhill at Wylam ( I think, Im a bit blurry right now) I kept on the brakes letting everyone pass me. That was hard as I love a good descent but I wanted to make sure everyone made it down together, I’m glad I did as there was a rider suddenly stopped near the back. Β He’d punctured and the group split in two for a time. By Bywell we were all back together. Nearly cake time.

Brocksbushes was fab, the giant case of homemade cakes was just as full and spankingly gorgeous as last time. So of course I had soup.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Β Then we set back off for Ponteland. This time we headed for Stamfordham. The pace was much faster than the pretty leisurely ride out and I did get myself a little muddled when Glorious old Ray suggested we should turn left, yesterday in the drive through I went straight on. Oh well, not the end of the world, Nearly back to Pont when another puncture occurred at the back, same rider, different wheel. It was lovely to stand around why Glorious old Ray the second fixed it for him. We rode round to the turn into Ponteland to find the front riders waiting for us and we rode into the town together. I had a lovely day and I’m glad I did it. I’m glad that Elaine offered to look after me and I’m glad that Super Al said he’d help me and I’m glad that Glorious old Ray stayed beside me keeping me right. I hope everyone else had a nice day too.

Of course standing outside of Anna’s waiting to turn into the traffic at hometime I would leave my right foot clipped into my pedal and then tip over sideways wouldn’t I? I landed on my hand but didn’t realise that I’d actually hurt it until I started driving home. Ice pack and diclofenac (No idea how that’s spelled but it was the only painkiller stuff in the cabinet) followed by a hot bath. Oh crap, I had baking to do. Have you tried rolling dough with one hand? Anyway the thumb pad bit of my right palm is rather swollen, it hurts to move my thumb or pick stuff up and it’s turning an interesting colour. Still, the cakes are cooling and the bread’s made. I’m so looking forward to the Mountain Time Trial tomorrow.

Explore posts in the same categories: photo journal, Rides, Tyneside Vagabonds

Tags: , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

12 Comments on “The Lady In Charge.”

  1. Roger Says:

    Well done Carrie – glad it went well!

  2. Super Al Says:

    Good ride today, Carrie. Thought you may have done more damage than you initially admitted. Hope you recover soon

  3. lost Says:

    Well done on leading your first ride! Would you do it all again?

    I think we’ve all been there with forgetting to unclip, or have left it too late to do so, so don’t worry as we’ve all made complete tits of ourselves.

    Hope the thumb eases off overnight and your cakes have turned out to be very yummy πŸ™‚

    • notthewowy Says:

      I would do it all again next week if needs be, happily I don’t need to which gives me plenty time and an excuse to check out new routes πŸ˜€

      Yeah, I forget that I need to be extra cautious with those pedals, I’m not a cautious lass you see. It’s feeling better already.

      • lost Says:

        That’s good to hear – on all accounts πŸ™‚

        We had a rider in our club who used to wait literally til he was falling over before trying to unclip; as you can imagine there was a cyclist shaped heap on the floor many a time. Hopefully, you’ll remember next time πŸ˜‰

  4. Bob Melrose Says:

    C arrie,

    Thanks for a super ride.

    Grand Al ordered me into his group (fastish one) as he wanted to get things going and I was stood next to him at the time.Because of ‘spongy’ brakes I took it easy down the bank before Wylam, and then stopped with young Drew to make sure that Kyle (dropped chain)was ok.The 3 of us set off at a great lick to catch up with the main group. A few miles further on my legs (and lungs)started to give up. Probably due to the fact that they are TWICE the COMBINED ages of my 2 young compadres. Anyway Grand Al came back and nursed me for the last couple of miles to Brocksbushes. Thanks again. Bob


  5. Top effort Lass! Glad it ran on rails! πŸ™‚

  6. Redbike Says:

    Well done on leading your first ride. I always try and avoid leading rides otherwise I sit at the front for all the way only to get my legs torn off when the pace picks as we get close to the cafe/home.

    I hope your wrist feels better now.


Leave a Reply

