Dawning Realisations

I am a voracious reader, I spent this week mostly trawling through B3ta’s question of the week. Yesterday I came to this post B3ta. It’s a common piece and I think I recall seeing it in a readers digest many years ago, of course it’s been all over but yesterday this quote struck me;

“Don’t waste your time on jealousy. Sometimes you’re ahead, sometimes you’re behind. The race is long and, in the end, it’s only with yourself.”

It’s true. I have spent the last year looking at cyclists and berating myself for the things I couldn’t do. I am painfully jealous of the cyclists who can climb. I hate them, its not fair etc etc. On Saturday with my clubmates, even though I would consider myself the weakest rider in the group, I let go of that feeling. The result was frankly astonishing. I cannot stress enough the elation I felt over those 72 miles. I’m still riding high. By letting go of those feelings of inadequacy I saw the potential I have.

Riding round the course on Saturday was akin to being visited by Scrooges ghosts, I saw there my rides past, present and future. If I compare myself to me say a year ago I know I wouldn’t recognise myself. I also know I would leave that me for dust, the hills that killed me now just provide scenery. Now I see what is to come. These are the things I didn’t know I could do. I didn’t know I could get up those hills and then sprint for my life. I didn’t know I could make it up the Ryals after 50 odd miles, I didn’t realise I could roll on from there and hammer it to Stamfordham and still have legs left.

I talked to so many riders (cos I am indeed a gob on legs) and many of them asked about our club jerseys. It helps to feel part of something and I feel proud to have found a comfortable place where I fit. I am part of something and I couldn’t be more grateful. Without my club (s) I would not  have learned a quarter of what I know about being a cyclist and I would have far fewer friends too. I wear my Tyneside Vagabonds jersey with pride and if I ever get a Wansbeck CC jersey I’ll wear that one with pride too.

So I think I see what to do next, work hard and see what I can do. Starting with my deal with Eileen; she’s gonna do the club 10 time trial on Thursday and I’m going to do the next one I can get to. So I have this to say GOOD LUCK OWLD CAKEFACE,  give it some welly ok?

Explore posts in the same categories: General randomness, Rides, Tyneside Vagabonds, wansbeck cycling club

15 Comments on “Dawning Realisations”


  1. Time trial!? Wow! Good luck! 🙂

  2. trio25 Says:

    You’ll love the timetrial, but the second one is even better!

    • notthewowy Says:

      Thanks, I didn’t enjoy the second as much as the first though I felt more comfortable. I think I’ll enjoy the next one though.

      I am so excited for Eileen. think she’ll do fabulously.

  3. Bob Melrose Says:

    Carrie,
    I do so love reading your prose as it is heartfelt and uplifting,yes, uplifting.
    You have to remember your cycling strengths. Ok, you might not fancy yourself on the ‘ups’,but my god are you not unbeatable on the downs? Plus you can cycle the legs off this member of the ‘Cyclone 6’on the flats. So there you beat me, 2 out of 3.Did so enjoy your wind jacket on Saturday. Bob

    • notthewowy Says:

      Aye but its human nature to dwell on the negative is it not? You have to pay me back for the jacket by timetrialling just once Bob 😉

      • Bob Melrose Says:

        Anyway. Methinks there is a plot afoot to get me to a 10 miler, so the plotters will not be as slow as this old and frail codger.I have always said that my cycling was to be for pleasure,not pain! My promise to these schemers is that I will do a competitive Vags event within the next 12 months.

        • notthewowy Says:

          haha, this plotter doesnt care about that. this plotter wants to see the smile on your face when you shout your number out. This plotter has met that feeling and wishes it on all the people she likes.

          • Bob Melrose Says:

            Well,with that lovely last line, i’m off to bed to sleep on it (which event and when, etc. etc.)

        • Roger Says:

          Well, you have to wait 12 months for the Mountain TT to come round don’t you ;o)

  4. Cakeface Says:

    Cheers Carrie, not sure excited is the word the describes my feelings about the 10TT!

  5. Cakeface Says:

    Go for it! He’s bursting to do one……..crazy fool!


Leave a Reply

