A Gal Walks Into A Bar…

Apparently theres a photo of me and And in this weeks Cycling Weekly, I’m told its on page 76 if anyone wants to go draw a ‘tache on me. But thats not what I want to talk about.

I’ve not got off to a great start with this tri bar lark. Champion Dan lent me a set of those A shape ones and they looked so cool on my bike but I couldn’t get comfortable on them, they were a bit painful to be frank. I found riding in the drops much more comfortable. Then And suggested he borrowed mine (Dans) from me and I borrowed his straght ones. So we did. Last Saturday I didnt get a whole lot of chance to try them out. I have been using them on the 2 mile ride to and from work and they still didn’t feel exactly great.

Last night I had to be at Bebside for the Wansbeck 25 so on the way over I used the time to try out some adjustments, lifting the seat twice and shortening the Tri bars twice too. That felt ok. I think my saddle needs tilting but I think I’m getting a handle on the tri bar thing. As I left after the time trial dusk was setting in, instead of taking the cycle path which goes all over the shop I carried on down the spine road ( a busy dual carriageway) thinking I would join the cycle track at Synpac (or whatever it’s called now) but each time an oppportunity arose I thought “nah, I’ll just carry on a bit”. That’s the first time I’ve ridden any length of the spine road in traffic and I was on those bars. It was a revelation for me. The bike is sans computer so I use map my ride on my phone instead and by my calculations I made those 5 miles at an average of about 18 mph. That’s astonishing! Really.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

2 Comments on “A Gal Walks Into A Bar…”


  1. 18MPH! FFS! MOTORING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. Wowy Says:

    nah, it was only 5 miles. If I could do that over ten I’d be chuffed. fastest 10 mile time was an average of 17.3


Leave a Reply

