The Shame…

I just couldn’t be bothered to post… I’m suddenly all kinds of busy. I feel great, full of beans. Between the boy being off school, the gym and stuff I just don’t seem to have any face to computer time.

Saturdays ride was great, a revelation. I have to say the doctors advice, while I considered it a bit silly, had tempered me slightly. I felt fit and strong but was cautious. 41 miles on saturday, the first ones of the August 150. Happy miles (big well done to Kyles mam, first time out and she did a fantastic job of it). Not wanting to push my luck though I turned for home at Mitford Steads instead of going back to Pont.

I feel so fit and well. Really really. 5 days now with no nausea, tiredness or headaches. I hope thats the end of it. Actually I think the exercise doesΒ me good and the combination of that and the eating well is why I feel so great.

I went to see the midwife for that second opinion. What a sensible lady. I toyed with not going since whatever she said I was going to carry on anyway just with added caution. I’m glad I did, she said that I was perfectly alright to continue and told me about a runner she knew who only changed her training regime at all when she started to feel uncomfortable at 8 months. So that’s what I’m going to do, body permitting, if it shouts I’ll listen. Next Saturday, all being well I’m going to ride back from Ponteland. I’m aiming for my normal miles, on a Saturday at least. Weekdays are hard as it’s the holidays but at least I have the gym…

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

10 Comments on “The Shame…”

  1. PhilR Says:

    I’m currently sitting making a big dint in this seat, sitting in front of the telly with laptop in lap, how exciting is this πŸ™‚ Sitting wishing I was on the bike, but knowing that as soon as I’m better I have a full week to make up for it at the end of the month before I go away for a few days. Providing the back heals I’m going to try for a ride a day to make up for it πŸ˜€

    Great to see you went with the second opinion though, wonder if the Doc will prescribe me rides so I have an excuse to get out πŸ˜€

    • Wowy Says:

      There’s a recumbent trainer in the welfare gym. How’s that for your back?

      • PhilR Says:

        Hmm, if this doesn’t ease and if I may be off a while I may wander over, I’m still on my ‘on delivery’ eating plan so no doubt I’ll be twice the size when I get back 😐

  2. Ian... Says:

    Hi Wowy,

    This is my first visit to your blog. Reading a mention of ‘midwife’ & finding your post from a week ago…well, congratulations – brilliant news!

    Don’t know if you’ve already seen this, but here’s a link to Guardians bike blogs article on cycling whilst pregnant. It’s all positive & agrees with your midwife :>]

    Ian…

    • Wowy Says:

      I have read that article, though it was a while ago, thanks for reminding me about it. I agree with my midwife. I was a bit shocked at what the doctor said, really I thought seeing him would be not much more than a formality you know?

      Oh, and it’s nice to meet you πŸ˜€

  3. Ian... Says:

    They grow up to be little ‘Orras y’know!

    Just kidding ;>D

    Maybe your doc’ was just covering his behind – you know what a health & safety nightmare world we live in these days – according to all the miserable doom-mongers anyway! Midwifes are a bit more realistic, esp’ the old school ones with lots of experience.

    • Wowy Says:

      I have a five year old ‘orrer already. πŸ˜‰ maybe that was the case. I respect how much work goes into becoming a doctor but there’s no way I can live happily on no exercise.

  4. Ian... Says:

    …oh & apologies – nice to meet you too :>)

  5. Toby Field Says:

    Looks like you’ll easily hit the #august150.


Leave a Reply

